Groups

Friends of, Conservancies and Volunteer Groups

The Providence Department of Parks and Recreation recognizes that we need active friends groups to be the stewards for neighborhood parks because the “friends” know how they want to use the park and what is needed. Working together, we can create spectacular outdoor spaces that reflect the identity and needs of the community.
The Providence Department of Parks and Recreation has worked with a number of outstanding volunteer groups. These groups have helped transform parks throughout Providence into vibrant community spaces. To get involved in one of these groups, email or call the group directly. If you would like to start your own, go to Resources for Groups.

Active Groups:

Avenue Concept

Contact: Yarrow Thorne

Email: yarrow@theavenueconcept.com

www.theavenueconcept.com

 

Blackstone Parks Conservancy

Contact: Jane Peterson

Email: janeannpeterson@gmail.com

www.blackstoneparksconservancy.org

 

cityWALK

Contact: Phoebe Blake

Email: phoebeblake@gmail.com

jewelrydistrict.org/city-walk

 

Downtown Providence Parks Conservancy

Contact: Jen Smith

Email: jen@kennedyplaza.org

provparksconservancy.org

 

Elmhurst Clean & Green

(Fargnoli & Davis Parks)

Contact: James Sullivan

Email:

alyssa@elmhurstcleanandgreen.com.

ECG’s website is elmhurstcleanandgreen.com

Friends of Camden Ave Park

Smith Hill CDC

Contact: Griffin Rouse

Email: grouse@smithihillcdc.org

 

Fox Point Neighborhood Association

Contact: John Rousseau

Email: johnrousseau@cox.net

fpna.net

 

Friends of Blackstone Woods

Contact: Elena Riverstone

Email Eriverstone@gmail.com

Facebook

 

Friends of Brown Street Park

Contact: Wendy Nilsson

Email: wnilsson@cox.net

Friendsofbrownstreetpark.org

 

Friends of Bucklin Park

Contact: Angie Ankoma

Email: friendsofbucklinpark@gmail.com

Facebook

 

Friends of Cabral Park

Contact: Catherine Wodehouse

Email: kwodehouse@hotmail.com

Facebook

 

Friends of Corliss Park

Contact: Tomas Avila

Email: tomasavila@icloud.com

Facebook

 

Creative Kids/General Street Park

Contact: Elizabeth Alvarez

Email: Elizabeth@providenceparks.org

 

Friends of Ellery Street Park

Contact: Wendy Nilsson

Email: Wendy@providenceparks.org

 

 

Friends of Gladys Potter Park

Contact: Erin Hartnett

Email: ecasey@gmail.com

Gladys Potter Park on Facebook

 

Friends of Harriet & Sayles

Providence Children’s Initiative

Contact: Ally Trenteseaux

Email: trenteseauxal@

familyserviceri.org

 

Friends of India Point Park

Contact: Patti Phillips

Email: info@friendsofindiapointpark.org

Friendsofindiapointpark.org

 

Friends of Joslin Park

Contact: Roby Neuton

Email: robotneutron@gmail.com

 

Friends of Locust Grove Cemetery

Contact: Theresa Eltz

Email: teltz@gmailcom

 

Friends of Neutaconkanut Rec. Area

Contact Richard Hemp

Email: rhemp@juno.com

 

Friends of Paterson Park

Contact: Al Dahlberg

Email: albert_dahlberg@yahoo.com

Facebook

 

Friends of Peace & Plenty Park

Contact: Doug Victor

Email: doug.dance@juno.com

 

Friends of Randall Park/North Burial Ground

Contact: Francis Leazes

Email: fleazes@RIC.edu

 

Friends of the Moshassuck

Contact: Greg Gerritt

Email: gerritt@mindspring.com

themoshassuck.org

 

Friends of the Wild Place

Contact: Diana Jackson

Email: ddhj13@verizon.net

friendsofthewildplace.weebly.com

 

Friends of Viscolosi Park

Contact: Carmen Recaldo

Email: Crecalde01@gmail.com

Facebook

 

Friends of Waterman Street Dog Park

Contact: Suzanne Renfro/Elena Riverstone

Email: friendsofblackstonewoods@gmail.com

Facebook

Gano Street Ball Field

Contact:  Jeff Levy

Email: jefflevy18@me.com

 

Habitat Restoration Team

Contact: Anna Browder & Mary Dennis

Email: anna.browder@verizon.net

 

Neutaconkanut Hill Conservancy

Contact: Elli Panichas

Email: ellipanichas@gmail.com

Nhill.org

 

Perennial Planters

M.E Sharpe Park – Benefit Street

Contact: Frances Gilbane

Email: fbgilbane@gilbaneco.com

 

River Road Restoration  Project

Contact: Rick Richards

Email: rickarichards@gmail.com

 

Roger Williams Botanical Center Conservancy

Contact: Judy Knight

Email: info@bccrwp.org

bccrwp.org

 

Roger Williams Park Conservancy

Website

 

Save the Bay

Contact: July Lewis

Email: jlewis@savebay.org

savethebay.org

 

Summit Neighborhood Association

(Summit Street and Lippitt Parks)

Contact: Dean Weiner

Email: thedeaner@gmail.com

sna.providence.ri.us

 

Urban Pond Procession

(JT Owens, Murphy Trainor  &  Mashpaug)

Contact: Holly Ewald

Email: hewald@me.com

urbanpondprocession.org

 

Neighborhood Alliance for Waterplace Park

Contact Paul Salesi

Email: iselasp@mac.com

waterplacepark.org

Facebook

 

WBNA & Friends of Dexter Training Ground

Contact: Kari Lang

Email: kari@wbna.org

wbna.org

 

Woonasquatucket River Watershed Council

(Riverside, Merino and Donigian Parks)

Contact: Lisa Aurecchia

Email: lisa@wrwc.org

wrwc.org

 

Quisqueya in Action, Inc  (Broad Street)

Contact: Marilyn Cepeda-Sanchez

Email: marilyncepeda908@gmail.com

 

All of our Providence Recreation Centers